border graphic


City Offices scheduled for the November 5, 2024, election include:

  • City Council: Ward 1
  • City Council: Ward 3
  • City Council: Ward 5
  • Commissioner of Public Works (1 seat)
On the Ballot
Greenwood City Council candidate information for the November 5, 2024 election can be found here.
School District 50 candidate information for the November 5, 2024 election can also be found at the link above.

This sample will only include information on state-level offices and amendments.  To view local candidate information please use the links provided above.

Early Voting Information
There will be two Early Voting Centers in the City of Greenwood for the 2024 General Election.

Early Voting Locations:
1) Greenwood County Voter Registration & Elections Office - 600 Monument St, Ste 13, Greenwood, SC 29646
2) Greenwood County Public Library - 600 Main Street South, Greenwood, SC 29646

Early Voting Dates/Hours:
8:30 am - 6:00 pm, Monday - Saturday
Early Voting Locations will open on Monday, October 21
Early Voting Locations will close on Saturday, November 2

General Election Info
All municipal elections in the City of Greenwood are conducted by the Greenwood County Voter Registration & Election Office.  Residents with questions about the election, or those that need assistance determining which ward they reside in,  may contact the Voter Registration & Election Office at (864) 942-8585.

Click here for information on voter registration/absentee voting.

Municipal elections are conducted on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November in each even-numbered year.  The seats up for election will alternate every two years. 

  • 2024 election - Wards 1, 3, 5
  • 2026 election - Wards 2, 4, 6, and Mayor

Representation & Terms

  1. The mayor is elected at large.  Each council-member must be a resident elector in the ward he/she seeks to represent.
  2. The mayor for the city is elected for a term of four years.
  3. The council-members are elected for a term of four years, with three being elected at each general election.
border graphic